I am currently open for review and feature requests from authors or publishers. Please read my authors/publishers page for more information on what is available and my policies.


Never Forget blog tour

4 Mar 2013

Never Forget by Emma Hart



Synopsis

A city girl.
 
A small town boy.
 
A summer they'll never forget.

Spending the summer at her Grammy's in Lilac Bay, Devon, is city girl Alexis 'Lexy' Edwards idea of hell. That is, until she reconnects with her childhood friend, Jen, and meets Alec Johnson.

Alec is the kind of guy Lexy knows she needs to stay away from. He's the village flirt, ridiculously hot and very dangerous to her self control. But there's a problem – she can't seem to keep him out, even though she knows he'll break her heart.

As Alec slowly strips away Lexy's defences and the two embark on a summer romance she never wanted, their feelings grow to more than either expected. But nothing lasts forever, and reality intrudes.

As her world is shaken to it's core, Lexy's self made prediction comes true when she discovers she's spent six weeks surrounded by secrets. Kept out by her family and the only guy she's ever trusted, she falls apart.

And when Grammy tells her that 'you might not end up where you wanted to be, but you'll always end up where you're meant to be,' she has to figure out if her meant to be is back home in London, or if it's been in Devon the whole time.

Review
 
Never Forget is a great New Adult contemporary romance novel. It has strong characters, a beautiful romance and just enough drama to keep things interesting without going overboard.
 
Lexi starts of as a slightly shallow character so it is great watch her growth throughout the book. I loved her supportive encouraging parents; it was a refreshing change to parents discouraging the romance that is so often seen in books.
 
Never Forget is told predominantly from Alexis’s point of view but we occasionally get to see things from Alec’s perspective. I thought this was amazing as we got to see into Alec’s head as he goes from a bit of a player to falling head over heels in love with Lexi.
 
This book has one extra thing about it that gives it huge appeal; the author is from England and thoroughly embraces her Britishness in this book. If like me you are also English you can revel in references that you understand and find hilarious, if you are not then I have five words for you – sexy guys with British accents. Emma Hart is leading the way for UK NA novels.
 
I would definitely recommend this book for anyone who enjoys NA and also Never Forget is perfect for fans of Abbi Glines. I can’t wait to see what else this author will bring in the future.
 
 


Young Adult to New Adult


I always had to write about this, I think, as a YA to NA author. Did I switch because it's what the market wanted?
 
No. I switched because it's what my characters wanted.
 
There are many defining differences between YA and NA – the biggest one being age and setting. In YA, you can be fourteen to twenty, I guess, but the constant factor is High School. In NA, you're eighteen to maybe, twenty-five,  and in college or working your first job.
 
New Adult isn't sexed up Young Adult. If you say this to a New Adult author, run and hide. It's likely to earn you a black eye courtesy of the nearest heavy object.
 
Let's be blunt here - there's sex in New Adult. There's hot sex in New Adult. Of course there is – in America, the sexual age of consent in most states is eighteen, in the UK it's sixteen. Why isn't New Adult from sixteen? Because it's not sexed up Young Adult – and sixteen is classed as young adult! Yes, I said it again. It's a thing a lot of people can't get. I've read some hella sexy young adult books and thought 'well, sh!t, that shouldn't be there!' ya know? I bet you have too. The bottom line with the sex thing is eighteen year olds up are likely to have sex and have more of it. That's why there's more in New Adult. There, we're done on that.

 
New Adult has a depth to it that Young Adult maybe hasn't quite reached yet. The characters are young enough to be unsure of themselves and love and life, yet not too young to see love as forever. They don't dive in head first, unconditionally, the way young adult characters do. Neither are bad things – it's just how it's viewed in the differing genres. That's not to say the love is stronger in young adult books, it's just given more freely since all they're thinking about is here and now. In New Adult, they're largely focused on their future.
 
In Never Forget, one reason Lexy holds back on her feelings for Alec is because she knows she'll be going back to London to University at the end of the summer.
 
In fact, I think smost of my characters are quite cynical about love. Huh. I put that down to the uncertainty that comes with leaving home for the first time. It's a really awkward time of life where you transition from being dependant to being... well, independent.
 
Say goodbye to mummy and daddy, because you're off on your own now.
 
There's also the fact that, since we're aiming books at a slightly older and more mature audience, many NA authors feel they can add in 'darker' subject matter. I'll hold my hand up – I wouldn't feel comfortable putting the content in my current work in progress in a young adult novel. Maybe it's because I believe a child/teen's innocence should be preserved for as long as possible before they have to learn about the big bad world – I don't know. I just know that I wouldn't write The Love Game for a young adult audience – and yes, there's more than just sex in it!
 
So there you have it. That's my take on New Adult, as both an author and an actual “New Adult.”
 
About The Author
 
By day, Emma Hart dons a cape and calls herself Super Mum to a terrible two year old. By night, she drops the cape, pours a glass of wine and writes books.

She likes to write about magic, kisses and whatever else she can fit into the story. Sarcastic, witty characters are a must. As are hot guys. She has two new series planned as well as her New Adult Romance, Never Forget, due February 2013. She likes to be busy - unless busy involves doing the dishes.
Her debut YA series, The Mauve Legacy, is an Apple iBooks Bestseller - and this makes Emma excited.
 
 
Where to stalk


Blog

Twitter : @EmmaHartAuthor

 

Giveaway

 

As part of the blog tour for Never Forget there is a tour wide giveaway for a signed copy of Never Forget and some swag.

International giveaway
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

UK only giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

If you leave a comment I promise to cherish it forever :) I will also try to always reply.